Quitting Ogame to play XXX

• I was introduced to Ogame by a group of friends 10 years ago. It brings back a lot of fond memories. I was a total noob back then, couldn't care less about ranks, and I had a ton of fun playing it. Still ended up being a decent-but-not-great player.

A few months ago I discovered that it still existed, so out of nostalgia I signed up. First impression was great, it was everything I remembered. Second impression was that the game was incredibly easy compared to what I remembered : people leave tons of ships on their planets, don't FS, just free recycling targets in unis with 80% DF.

So I made it to the top50 of the first uni I played in (Himalia). Then I deleted my account for RL reasons. Started again a few weeks later on US Zibal. Made it to about the same rank there. Then on Janice, made it to the top25...before deciding to quit for good.

Why? Because I started growing more and more dissatisfied with the game. How was it fair that I had no moon on my Zibal account (uni was 30% DF so moonshots were just not viable at this stage), but many players had 3 or 4 moons thanks to a blatant use of premium items? How was it fair that half the players in the top100 had +3 to espionage from commanding staff? How was it fair that they had planets relocated to pos 15's which gave them over +50% to their deut production? How was it fair that instadef even exists in this game? What's the counterplay to instadef? Even if you slow down your fleet with ACS they'll still instadef just before it hits so you still have no way to see it coming. Instadef is the literal equivalent of entering a cheat code to destroy an attacking fleet.